Safety

It’s in our DNA

Simply put, safety has been one of our core values and a top priority since the earliest days of Volvo Trucks. Our Zero Accident Vision means that no Volvo truck should be involved in an accident. We’re not there yet, but we continue to lead the way in improving road safety – especially when it comes to the interplay between driver, truck, and surrounding traffic.

Since 1927, safety has been the guiding principle for everything we build. We invented the three-point safety belt and were the first to introduce it as a standard feature in trucks. We also introduced the driver-side airbag and are still the only truck manufacturer to include it as standard in every vehicle we make. Building on this legacy, Volvo has upgraded to standard LED lighting, and now offers an optional integrated side-impact airbag for rollover protection, as well as a forward collision warning for emergency braking situations.

LED lighting

Highlighting safety.

To improve visibility and reduce maintenance, Volvo employs LED bulbs for all exterior and interior lighting. All models feature LED high/low beam headlights, as well as LED turn, marker, and parking lamps. The premium headlamp also features a “signature” LED daytime running light.

Volvo is safety

It’s a matter of life.

Volvo Enhanced Stability Technology (VEST)

By continually monitoring operating parameters, VEST detects imminent loss of control, jackknife, or rollover events. The system automatically reduces engine torque and selectively applies braking to help keep the truck on course.

Volvo I-Shift transmission

I-Shift takes away the physical and mental demands of changing gears, which reduces driver fatigue and provides more time for the driver to give full attention to surrounding traffic.

Adaptive Loading

Adaptive Loading features a basic traction mode that stabilizes your trailer during loading and unloading, and an enhanced traction mode that automatically provides unmatched traction on steep grades or in hazardous conditions.

Active Safety

Volvo Active Driver Assist.

Volvo Active Driver Assist is in constant operation while the vehicle is in motion, providing stationary object detection with stationary vehicle braking, which sends audible and visual warnings if a metallic object is detected in front of the truck. Braking assist will be applied—at speeds greater than 15 mph—when the system recognizes the stationary object as a vehicle, independent of whether cruise control is engaged. The driver will receive a warning up to 3.5 seconds before an imminent impact with the vehicle, and, if no action is taken by the driver, Volvo Active Driver Assist will automatically engage the brakes.

Lane departure warning

This safety system uses a windshield-mounted camera to track road markings. If the truck begins to drift, audio and visual alerts warn the driver to get back into the correct lane.

Data camera

A windshield-mounted, wide-angle camera is available. Relevant driver and vehicle performance data is collected by the camera when a trigger event occurs—such as excessive braking, lane changes without a turn signal, excessive curve speed, and extended loss of tracking. Video is captured for later download.

Forward Collision Warning

Volvo now offers enhanced forward collision warning. A red light appears in the windshield to alert the driver if the vehicle sensors detect slower or stationary objects ahead and can automatically apply emergency braking if needed to assist the the driver.

Passive Safety

Leading-edge safety. Protecting your most important asset.

Volvo stays on the cutting edge of safety technology, ensuring that our trucks remain the safest on the road. Built to exceed the demanding Swedish Cab Safety Test, our High-Strength Steel (HSS) cabs have the industry’s highest strength-to-weight ratio, protecting the driver by absorbing as much crash energy as possible.

Industry-leading. Just in case.

Volvo is the only Class 8 manufacturer to make a driver’s side airbag standard equipment in every truck. For added rollover protection, Volvo offers the Rolltek® seat, combining seat belt pre-tensioners, automatic seat lowering to increase survival space, and an integral side airbag that deploys for head and neck protection.

Sécurité

C’est dans notre ADN

En termes simples, sécurité a été une de nos valeurs fondamentales et une priorité depuis les premiers jours de Volvo Trucks. Notre Vision d’Accident zéro signifie qu’aucun camion Volvo ne devrait être impliquée dans un accident. Nous n’en sommes pas encore là, mais nous continuons d’ouvrir la voie à l’amélioration de la sécurité routière – surtout quand il s’agit de l’interaction entre le conducteur et camion trafic environnant.

Depuis 1927, la sécurité a été le principe directeur de tout ce que nous construisons. Nous avons inventé la ceinture de sécurité trois points et furent les premiers à introduire en standard dans les camions. Aussi, nous a présenté l’airbag côté conducteur et sont toujours le seul fabricant de camion pour l’inclure en standard dans chaque véhicule que nous faisons. S’appuyant sur cet héritage, Volvo a amélioré à éclairage LED standard et propose désormais un airbag intégré facultatif de choc latéral pour protection contre les tonneaux, ainsi qu’une alerte de collision avant pour des situations de freinage d’urgence.

Éclairage LED

Mise en évidence de sécurité.

Pour améliorer la visibilité et réduire l’entretien, Volvo emploie des ampoules à LED pour tous les éclairages extérieurs et intérieurs. Tous les modèles phares de fonction LED de haute/basse faisceau, mais aussi LED turn, marqueur et feux de stationnement. Le projecteur premium dispose également d’une « signature » LED daytime feux.

Volvo est sécurité

C’est une question de vie.

Volvo amélioré stabilité technologie (VEST)

En surveillant continuellement les paramètres de fonctionnement, gilet détecte une perte imminente des événements de contrôle, couteau de poche ou de renversement. Le système réduit automatiquement le couple moteur et sélectivement s’applique de freinage pour aider à garder le camion sur le parcours.

Transmission de Volvo I-Shift

I-Shift enlève les exigences physiques et mentales de l’évolution des engrenages, qui réduit la fatigue des conducteurs et fournit plus de temps pour le pilote de donner toute l’attention qui entoure le trafic.

Chargement adaptatif

Chargement adaptatif dispose d’un mode de traction base qui stabilise votre remorque pendant le chargement et le déchargement et un mode de traction améliorée qui assure automatiquement la traction inégalée sur une pente raide ou dans des conditions dangereuses.

Sécurité active

Volvo pilote Active Assist.

Aider les pilote Active Volvo est en fonctionnement constant alors que le véhicule est en mouvement, fournissant la détection d’objet stationnaire avec le véhicule à l’arrêt, de freinage qui envoie audible et avertissements visuels si un objet métallique est détectée devant le camion. Assistance de freinage sera appliqué — à des vitesses supérieures à 15 mi/h, lorsque le système reconnaît l’objet fixe comme un véhicule, indépendamment de savoir si le régulateur de vitesse est engagé. Le pilote recevra un avertissement vers le haut à 3,5 secondes avant l’impact imminent avec le véhicule, et, si aucune mesure n’est prise par le pilote, Volvo Active Driver aider s’engagera automatiquement les freins.

Alarme de départ de voie

Ce système de sécurité utilise une caméra montée sur le pare-brise pour suivre les marquages routiers. Si le camion commence à dériver, alertes sonores et visuelles avertissent le conducteur pour revenir dans la bonne voie.

Caméra de données

Une caméra montée sur pare-brise, grand-angle est disponible. Les données pertinentes de rendement de conducteur et le véhicule sont recueillies par la caméra lorsqu’un événement déclencheur se produit, comme le freinage excessif, lane change sans clignotant, vitesse excessive courbe et une perte prolongée de suivi. Vidéo est capturée par téléchargement plus tard.

Alerte de Collision avant

Offre désormais Volvo amélioré alerte de collision avant. Une lumière rouge apparaît dans le pare-brise pour avertir le conducteur si les capteurs du véhicule, détecter des objets plus lents ou stationnaires avant et peuvent appliquer automatiquement un freinage d’urgence si nécessaire pour aider le conducteur.

Sécurité passive

Sécurité de pointe. Protéger votre actif le plus important.

Volvo reste à la fine pointe de la technologie de sécurité, s’assurer que nos camions demeurent les plus sûrs sur la route. Conçu pour dépasser le Test de sécurité cabine suédois exigeants, nos cabines haute résistance en acier (SSC) ont rapport de résistance-poids plus élevé de l’industrie, protéger le pilote en absorber autant d’énergie que possible crash.

Leader de l’industrie. Juste au cas où.

Volvo est le seul fabricant de classe 8 pour rendre l’équipement standard du coussin gonflable côté du conducteur dans chaque camion. Pour une protection anti-tonneau ajouté, Volvo offre le siège de Rolltek®, combinant prétendeur de ceinture de sécurité, siège automatique abaissement pour augmenter l’espace de survie et un airbag latéral intégré qui se déploie pour protection tête et cou.